

European IP Institutes Network - Innovation Society

# **Training Plan Methods 4: Literature Seminar**

## Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Competition

## 5-6 September 2018

Wednesday 5 September 9 am-5.05 pm Thursday 6 September 9 am-4.05 pm

### **Objective of the Training**

The objective of the training is to enable EIPIN-IS early stage researchers (ESRs) to identify legal literature relevant for their own doctoral researches as well as engage in an intensive and rigorous analysis on the methodology, quality and significance of scholarly legal articles. In order to achieve a fully-fledged participation in the training, all the ESRs are asked to fulfil an assignment.

### Assignment

Each ESR is required to select one scholarly legal article, which the ESR considers as highly relevant for conducting his/her doctoral research in the framework of the EIPIN-IS project. After making the selection, each ESR is requested to prepare a short statement explaining the reasons why this concrete article is essential to one's doctoral research.

### Format of the Training

The format of the Literature Seminar will be highly interactive. During the training each ESR, who has proposed an article, will have to explain why this writing is important for the doctoral thesis and how he/she will make use of it. Other ESRs belonging to the same Work Package will be expected to have read this scholarly legal article as well and give their feedback on it. Afterwards established senior researchers will provide an extended feedback on the selected articles and the analysis provided by the ESRs. Those ESRs, who belong to other Work Packages, will also be asked to join the discussion by providing their views on the selected literature.

### Commentators

The following senior researchers are committed to act as commentators for this training:

- (1) Prof. Dr. Josef Drexl (Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Competition; University of Munich);
- (2) Prof. Dr. Annette Kur (Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Competition; University of Munich);
- (3) Adj. Prof. Dr. Silke von Lewinski (Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Competition; Franklin Pierce Center for IP, University of New Hampshire);
- (4) Dr. Andreas Sattler (University of Munich).









